Our Team.


MUHURI is governed by a Board of Directors lead by the Chairperson, Chief Justice Emeritus Dr. Willy Mutunga. The Board of MUHURI in its diversity is the advisory organ of the Institution, Guiding in the implementation of the Organization. The Board Members are experts in their own rights on various topical issues that affect the society today. At the management level, the organization is headed and lead by the Executive Director, Omar Elmawi who also chairs the management committee comprising of representation from all departments.  

Board Members

Dr. Willy Mutunga
Board Chair
Mdm. Nusrat Mohamed
Vice Chair
Mr. Khelef Khalifa
Board Member
Ms Winnie Maina
Board Member
Prof. Rayya Timmamy
Board Member
Mr. Athman M. Athman
Board Member
Mr. Maina Kiai
Board Member
Prof. Hassan Mwakimako
Board Member


Omar Elmawy
Executive Director
Monica Charo
Assistant Executive
Fredrick Okado
Senior Programs Officer
Nuru Mohamed
Administration Officer
Abdishukri Ibrahim
Project Officer and Garrisa County Coordinator
Saida Breik
Finance Officer
Francis Auma
Rapid Response Officer
Dennis Chinzi
Legal Programmes Officer
Walid Kassim
Monitoring & Evaluation Officer
Topister Juma
Gender Officer and Mombasa County Coordinator
Afye Swaleh
Kilifi County Coordinator
Ogle Abdi
Tana River County Coordinator
Mohamed Abdulhalim
Lamu County Coordinator
Kelly Aduo
Taita Taveta County Coordinator
Abdulrahman Mwaangoka
Kwale County Coordinator
Samuel Safari
Office Assistant
Mohamed Ahmed
Logistics Officer
Mwinyi Mbaruk
Office Assistant